clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Memorial Cup: The battle for CHL supremacy kicks off tonight

Chris Clapperton and Rimouski will face Josh Brown and Oshawa on Saturday.

Cats prospect Chris Clapperton opne Memorial Cup play tonight.
Cats prospect Chris Clapperton opne Memorial Cup play tonight.
Francois Laplante/FreestylePhoto/Getty Images

The 2015 Mastercard Memorial Cup kicks off tonight at the storied Colisee Pepsi in Quebec City.

The four teams vying for CHL supremacy are the QMJHL champion Rimouski Oceanic, the WHL champion Kelowna Rockets, the OHL champion Oshawa Generals and the host team, the Quebec Remparts. In addition to hosting this year's tourney, the Remparts are a worthy combatant who lost in double overtime to the Oceanic in game seven of the President's Cup final.

The clubs will face off once against each other in a three-game opening round. The first place team will advance straight to the championship game while the second and third place teams will meet in the semifinal. If the third and fourth place are tied after the opening round, a playoff game to decide who meets the second place team in the semifinal will played.

The Florida Panthers have two prospects participating in this year's tournament. Forward Christopher Clapperton of the Oceanic and defenseman Josh Brown of the Generals.

Clapperton, a fifth-round selection in 2013, finished sixth in scoring during the "Q" playoffs with 25 points in 18 games. He produced a goal and an assist in the game seven win over the Remparts. Brown, a 2013 sixth-rounder, captained Oshawa to the OHL title and was a big part of the swarming defensive effort that bottled up NHL superstar-in-waiting, Connor McDavid.

Opening Robin

Kelowna vs. Quebec  Friday, May 22  7:30 pm 
Rimouski vs. Oshawa  Saturday, May 23  4:30 pm
Quebec vs. Oshawa  Sunday, May 24  4:30 pm
Rimouski vs. Kelowna  Monday, May 25  7:30 pm
Oshawa vs. Kelowna  Tuesday, May 26  7:30 pm
Quebec vs. Rimouski  Wednesday, May 27  7:30 pm

Tie-Breaker (If necessary) Thursday, May 28  7:30 pm

Semifinal: Friday, May 29  7:30 pm

Memorial Cup Championship: Sunday, May 31 TBA