clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Thursday Caterwaul: Florida Panthers Open Forum

Panthers home-opener October 11 versus Columbus

Columbus Blue Jackets v Florida Panthers Photo by Joel Auerbach/Getty Images

The NHL announced the home-openers for its 31 franchises yesterday. Our Florida Panthers will host the Columbus Blue Jackets on October 11 in the first home game of 2018-19 campaign. The Cats will open the season on the road against the Tampa Bay Lightning on October 6. They will probably play one more on the road before facing the Blue Jackets at the BB&T Center. The season will start with four games on October 3.

Aleksander Barkov (Lady Byng Trophy) and Roberto Luongo (Bill Masterton Trophy) didn’t bring back any hardware at the NHL’s Award Show in Las Vegas last night.

Here’s a list of all the winners:

Hart Trophy

Awarded to the player judged most valuable to his team: Taylor Hall, New Jersey Devils

Jack Adams Award

Awarded to the NHL coach judged to have contributed the most to his team’s success: Gerard Gallant, Vegas Golden Knights

Vezina Trophy

Awarded to the goalkeeper judged to be the best at his position: Pekka Rinne, Nashville Predators

Selke Trophy

Awarded to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game: Anze Kopitar, Los Angeles Kings

Bill Masterton Trophy

Awarded to the player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey: Brian Boyle, New Jersey Devils

Lady Byng Trophy

Awarded to the player judged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability: William Karlsson, Vegas Golden Knights

Mark Messier Leadership Award

Given to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice, during the regular season and who plays a leading role in his community growing the game of hockey: Deryk Engelland, Vegas Golden Knights

Calder Trophy

Awarded to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition: Mathew Barzal, New York Islanders

Norris Trophy

Awarded to the defenseman that demonstrated the greatest all-around ability in the position: Victor Hedman, Tampa Bay Lightning

King Clancy Trophy

Awarded to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community: Daniel and Henrik Sedin, Vancouver Canucks

William Jennings Trophy

Goaltender(s) who played 25 games or more for the team with the fewest goals against: Jonathan Quick, Los Angeles Kings

Ted Lindsay Award

Most valuable player, as voted on by the NHLPA: Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

Art Ross Trophy

Given to the player who leads the league in points: Connor McDavid, Edmonton Oilers

Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy

Given to the player who leads the league in goals: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals

Litter Box Nuggets (Five for reading)

  • New Jersey Devils forward Taylor Hall is just the second player in the Hart Memorial Trophy’s 94-year history to be traded and then take home the award. (TSN)
  • The salary cap for next season is expected by around $80 million, an increase of about $5 million from 2017-18. (NHL)
  • While things appeared to dumpster fire-like in Ottawa from the outside, Garry Bettman says don’t believe the hype. (ESPN)
  • The Vegas Golden Knights capped off its extremely successful inaugural season with a huge night at the awards show. (Knights on Ice)
  • Seattle remains on track to become the NHL’s 32nd club. When this happens depends mostly on the building is ready, mostly. (NHL)