clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NHL Postseason Caterwaul: Bruins one step away from Cup Final after 2-1 win over Hurricanes

New, comments

Two assists for Vincent Praplan at Worlds

NHL: Stanley Cup Playoffs-Boston Bruins at Carolina Hurricanes Geoff Burke-USA TODAY Sports

Tuukka Rask made 35 saves and Chris Wagner and Brad Marchand scored the goals as the Boston Bruins edged the Carolina Hurricanes 2-1 in Raleigh to take a commanding three games to none lead in the Eastern Conference Final. Marchand’s power-play goal 6:28 into the second period proved to be the game-winner. Calvin de Haan scored later in the frame for the Hurricanes, who could not solve Rask over the final 26:12 to get the game to overtime. Curtis McElhinney started in place of Petr Mrazek and finished with 29 stop.

SBN Recaps: Stanley Cup of Chowder - Canes Country

Western Conference Final (Game 3)

San Jose Sharks at St. Louis Blues 8 p.m. NBCSN (Series tied 1-1)

Pregame at Fear The Fin - St. Louis Game Time

IIHF World Championship (games involving Florida Panthers)

Vincent Praplan assisted on two goals in Switzerland’s 4-0 shutout win over Austria. Praplan logged 16:30 TOI and finished the game with one shot on goal and +1 rating. The Cats prospect took a tripping penalty early in the third period and lost the only draw he took. Praplan drew the secondary assist on Kevin Fiala’s game-opening goal with 33 seconds left in the first period and later had a hand in setting up Sven Andrighetto’s power-play marker with 13 seconds left in regulation.

Other results

Denmark 9, Great Britain 0

Germany 4, France 1

Latvia 3, Austria 0

Today’s games

USA (Frank Vatrano) vs. Great Britain 10:15 a.m. NHL Network, TSN

Switzerland (Vincent Praplan) vs. Norway 10:15 a.m. TSN5

Germany vs. Slovakia 2:15 p.m. NHL Network, TSN

Russia (Evgenii Dadonov) vs. Italy 2:15 p.m. TSN5

LBC Poll


Who will win Game 3 of the WCF?

This poll is closed

  • 58%
    St. Louis Blues
    (10 votes)
  • 41%
    San Jose Sharks
    (7 votes)
17 votes total Vote Now