clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Lightning capture Stanley Cup with 2-0 win over Stars

Victor Hedman wins Conn Smythe Trophy

2020 NHL Stanley Cup Final - Game Six Photo by Bruce Bennett/Getty Images

The Tampa Bay Lightning captured the 2020 Stanley Cup by shutting out the Dallas Stars 2-0 in Game 6 at Rogers Place in Edmonton. It was the second time, and first since 2004, that the Lightning has won the title.

Andrei Vasilevskiy stopped 22 shots to post his first shutout of the postseason and 18th win in his 25th start. He was the only goalie to play for the Bolts in the postseason. Sorry, Curtis McElhinney...

Brayden Point finished off his own rebound to open the scoring with a power-play goal 12:23 into the first with the assists going to Nikita Kucherov and Victor Hedman.

Point led all players with 14 postseason goals, while Kucherov’s 34 points topped the league.

Blake Coleman’s one-timer put Tampa Bay up by two at 7:01 of the second.Cedric Paquette and Pat Maroon got the assists on the final goal in the bubble.

Hedman won the Conn Smythe Trophy as MVP of the Stanley Cup Playoffs. He put up 22 points (10G/12A) in 25 games. A worthy winner although I would have went with Point.

Anton Khudobin made 27 saves for Dallas, who were limited to eight shots on goal through the second period before outshooting Tampa Bay 14-8 in the third.

Congratulations to the Lightning, for winning the Cup under challenging circumstances that will not be forgotten, and hopefully, never duplicated.

Video Recap

SBN Recaps: Raw Charge / Defending Big D