Florida Panthers MacKenzie Weegar among 40 players to file for salary arbitration

Cats defender looks to move into seven-figure territory

The NHLPA announced that 40 NHL players have elected for salary arbitration ahead of the July 6 deadline. That number quickly dropped to 39 after the Tampa Bay Lightning came to terms with forward Cedric Paquette.

Jacob Trouba of the New York Rangers, Calgary’s Sam Bennett and Stanley Cup-winning goalie Jordan Binnington of the St. Louis Blues highlight some of the big names who have filed for arbitration.

Locally, MacKenzie Weegar was the only member of the Florida Panthers to elect  salary arbitration. Ian McCoshen, Anthony Greco, Dominic Toninato and Maxim Mamin did not.

Weegar, 25, played the 2018-19 season on a one-year contract that paid him $900K.

Teams can still negotiate new deals with the players before hearings take place on July 20. The hearings will run until August 4.

Here is the complete list of players who have filed for arbitration with their NHL clubs.

Anaheim Ducks: Chase De Leo

Boston Bruins: Danton Heinen

Buffalo Sabres: Remi Elie, Jake McCabe, Evan Rodrigues, Linus Ullmark

Calgary Flames: Sam Bennett, Ryan Lomberg, David Rittich, Rinat Valiev

Carolina Hurricanes: Anton Forsberg, Brock McGinn

Colorado Avalanche: J.T. Compher, Sheldon Dries, Ryan Graves

Dallas Stars: Jason Dickinson

Florida Panthers: MacKenzie Weegar

Los Angeles Kings: Alex Iafallo

Montreal Canadiens: Joel Armia, Charles Hudon, Artturi Lehkonen

Nashville Predators: Rocco Grimaldi, Colton Sissons

New Jersey Devils: Will Butcher, Connor Carrick, Mirco Mueller

New York Rangers: Pavel Buchnevich, Jacob Trouba

Philadelphia Flyers: Scott Laughton

Pittsburgh Penguins: Zach Aston-Reese

St. Louis Blues Jordan Binnington, Joel Edmundson, Zach Sanford, Oskar Sundqvist

Tampa Bay Lightning: Cedric Paquette (came to terms after filing)

Vegas Golden Knights: Malcolm Subban

Washington Capitals: Christian Djoos, Chandler Stephenson

Winnipeg Jets: Andrew Copp, Neal Pionk