Sunday Caterwaul: Florida Panthers Offseason Open Forum

Islanders hold off Lightning to tie series

Ryan McDonagh’s last-second, spinning backhand shot was denied not by goaltender Semyon Varlamov, but by defenseman Ryan Pulock as the New York Islanders held off the Tampa Bay Lightning to win Game Four of their semifinal series by a 3-2 count.

Josh Bailey, Mathew Barzal and Matt Martin scored in the first period to stake the Islanders to a three-goal lead. Martin eventual game-winning goal was his first of the playoffs. Varlamov finished the tilt with 28 stops.

Brayden Point and Taylor Johnson scored 2:58 apart early in the final frame to make it close. Point extended his goal streak to seven games, and Andrei Vasilevskiy made 27 saves for Tampa Bay.

More coverage at Lighthouse Hockey and Raw Charge

Tonight’s game

Vegas Golden Knights at Montreal Canadiens 8 p.m. NBCSN (Montreal leads 2-1)

Get your pregame on at Knights On Ice and Eyes On The Prize

LBC Poll

Who will win Game 4 tonight?

Montreal Canadiens10
Vegas Golden Knights11

ECHL Fastern Conference Final

The South Carolina Stingrays scored three unanswered goals in the third period to rally past the Greenville Swamp Rabbits, 3-2, on Saturday night at Bon Secours Wellness Arena. South Carolina leads the best-of-five Eastern Conference Finals, 2-1. Greenville will need to win two straight games to advance to the Kelly Cup.

Florida Panthers prospect Ryan Bednard got the start and finished with 31 saves for the Swamp Rabbits.

Alec Rauhaser registered one shot on goal, took two minor penalties and posted an even rating.

Unsigned Panthers draft pick Greg Meireles set up a goal and had one shot on goal. Defenseman Ben Finkelstein finished with two shots and an even rating.

Slavin wins the Lady Byng

Carolina Hurricanes defenseman Jaccob Slavin has been named the winner of the 2021 Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, awarded to the player “adjudged to have exhibited the best type of sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct combined with a high standard of playing ability.”

Slavin becomes just the fourth defenseman to have his name etched on the trophy, following Bill Quackenbush (Detroit Red Wings), Red Kelly (Detroit, Toronto Maple Leafs) and former Panther Brian Campbell. Aleksander Barkov, who won the award in 2019, finished fourth in the voting.