Wednesday Caterwaul: Jonathan Huberdeau named to NHL’s Second All-Star team

Florida Panthers Open Forum

Jonathan Huberdeau of the Florida Panthers was named as the left wing on the NHL’s Second All-Star team. Joining Huberdeau were center Auston Matthews, right wing Mikko Rantanen, defesemen Victor Hedman and Dougie Hamilton, and goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury.

Huberdeau led the Panthers in assists (41) and points (61) while appearing in 55 of the team’s 56 regular season games. He finished 12th in the NHL in scoring.

The First All-Star team consisted of center Connor McDavid, left wing Brad Marchand, right wing Mitch Marner, defenesmen Cale Makar and Adam Fox, and goaltender Andrei Vasilevskiy.

The All-Rookie team consisted of forwards Kirill Kaprizov, Josh Norris and Jason Robertson, defensemen K’Andre Miller and Ty Smith, and goaltender Alex Nedeljkovic.

Stanley Cup

Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Final will be played tonight at Amalie Arena. The Tampa Bay Lightning, looked every bit the defending champions, cruising to a relatively easy 5-1 win in Game 1 on Monday. Tampa Bay allowed the Canadiens to stay close for forty two minutes before they reeled off three consecutive goals in the final frame. Montreal will need to put forth a much better, and cleaner, effort in Game 2 if they want to head home with a split.

Game 2: Montreal Canadiens at Tampa Bay Lightning 8 p.m. NBCSN

Get your pregame on at Raw Charge and Eyes On The Prize

Remainder of the 2021 Stanley Cup Final schedule

Game 3: Friday, July 2, 8 p.m., Lightning at Canadiens. NBC

Game 4: Monday, July 5, 8 p.m., Lightning at Canadiens, NBC

Game 5: Wednesday, July 7, 8 p.m., Canadiens at Lightning, NBC (if necessary)

Game 6: Friday, July 9, 8 p.m., Lightning at Canadiens, NBC (if necessary)

Game 7: Sunday, July 11, 7 p.m., Canadiens at Lightning, NBC (if necessary)

NHL Awards

Edmonton Oilers center Connor McDavid won the Hart Trophy unanimously voted as the most valuable player in the NHL on Tuesday. McDavid received each of the 100 first-place votes after he led the NHL with 105 points (33G/72 A), He is the second unanimous Hart Trophy winner in the 97-year history of the award, which was first presented in 1923-24. Wayne Gretzky earned each of the 63 first-place votes in 1981-82, following his 92-goal, 212-point season. McDavid also won the Ted Lindsay Award.

Marc-Andre Fleury of the Vegas Golden Knights won the Vezina Trophy voted as the best goalie in the NHL on Tuesday. Fleury was 26-10-0 and third in the NHL in wins and shutouts (six), and third in goals-against average (1.98) and save percentage (.928) among goalies to play at least 20 games.

Minnesota Wild forward Kirill Kaprizov won the Calder Trophy voted as NHL rookie of the year on Tuesday. He led rookies in goals (27), points (51), power-play goals (eight) and shots on goal (157) in 55 games.

LBC Poll

Who will win Game 2 tonight?

Tampa Bay Lightning37
Montreal Canadiens8